Jimi Hendrix & The Band of Gypsys are set to release a new five-CD and eight LP box set on November 22nd, 2019 called Songs for Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts. 

The brand new collection will include four concerts that introduce to Band of Gypsys. Obviously, this is immediately after Hendrix’ departure from The Jimi Hendrix Experience. Not only does it include the entire show, but it also brings to life over 20 tracks that have never appeared on commercially released recordings.

Both concerts take place at the New York club, two sets each on New Year’s Eve 1969 and New Year’s Day 1970. Most importantly, this set brings together all four shows, unedited and given a new mix by Hendrix’s famous engineer Eddie Kramer. Not to mention, it comes with a book that contains liner notes by bassist Billy Cox and author Nelson George, plus many more surprises.

Jimi Hendrix, ‘Songs for Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts’ Track Listing

Disc One — Dec. 31, 1969, First Set
1. “Power of Soul”
2. “Lover Man”
3. “Hear My Train A Comin’”
4. “Changes”
5. “Izabella”
6. “Machine Gun”
7. “Stop”
8. “Ezy Ryder”
9. “Bleeding Heart”
10. “Earth Blues”
11. “Burning Desire”

Disc Two — Dec. 31, 1969, Second Set
1. “Auld Lang Syne”
2. “Who Knows”
3. “Fire”
4. “Ezy Ryder”
5. “Machine Gun”
6. “Stone Free”
7. “Changes”
8. “Message to Love”
9. “Stop”
10. “Foxey Lady”

Disc Three — Jan. 1, 1970, First Set
1. “Who Knows”
2. “Machine Gun”
3. “Changes”
4. “Power of Soul”
5. “Stepping Stone”
6. “Foxey Lady”
7. “Stop”
8. “Earth Blues”
9. “Burning Desire”

Disc Four — Jan. 1, 1970, Second Set
1. “Stone Free”
2. “Power of Soul”
3. “Changes”
4. “Message to Love”
5. “Machine Gun”
6. “Lover Man”
7. “Steal Away”
8. “Earth Blues”

Disc Five — Jan. 1, 1970, Second Set
1. “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)”
2. “We Gotta Live Together”
3. “Wild Thing”
4. “Hey Joe”
5. “Purple Haze”


All pre-orders will come with an immediate download of “Message to Love” from the second set.


Watch the trailer here:

Public Inspection File

Click Here to access the online Public Inspection File

Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station’s FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC’s online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or fccinfo@fcc.gov.

Public File Liaison: