Ronnie Van Zant, Bob Burns, Allen Collins, Gary Rossington, and Larry Junstrom formed the band Lynyrd Skynyrd back in 1964, originally known as My Backyard, the band changed to its famous name in the early 1970s. In 1973, the band recorded and released “Free Bird,” arguably the most-recognized single in the Southern Rock genre. Of course, later down the road, the band recorded the iconic tracks “Sweet Home Alabama” and “What’s Your Name.”

The band’s current line-up includes original member Rossington, Johnny Van Zant, Rickey Medlocke, Mark “Sparky” Matejka, Michael Cartellone, Keith Christopher, Peter Keys, Dale Krantz Rossington, and Carol Chase. Lynyrd Skynyrd was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2006.

As the band promised to their fans, the Last of the Street Survivors Farewell Tour continues in 2020 with tickets for U.S. dates going on sale to the general public beginning this Friday, Dec. 6 at 10:00 a.m. local time at

The farewell tour will continue to take the band across the country and around the globe
in 2020 giving fans another night of classic American Rock-and-Roll. The tour will make a stop in Fort Wayne on Friday, September 18th, 2020, at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum. The Southern Rockers will be joined on the tour by special guest Travis Tritt.


Recommended Posts

Public Inspection File

Click Here to access the online Public Inspection File

Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station’s FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC’s online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or

Public File Liaison: